In many cases, you may want to restrict which data a specific user has access to. For example, if your sales reps are logging into Velocity, you may want them to only see their own customers and commission. In Velocity, we call this concept access control.
If a user does not have access to a specific resource, they will not be able to see or interact with it in any way when in Velocity.
Access control is separate from user roles. Roles control what actions a user can take, while access control refers to what data they can access.
Manage Customer Access
Users may be authorized to access specific customers, which will give them access to:
The customer's details
The customer's addresses and payment methods
Files attached to that customer
All orders placed by that customer
To manage a user's authorized customers, go to the user details page and select the Customer Authorization tab. Here, you will see a list of all customers the user has access to. You can add/remove specific customers here, or grant a user access to every customer by checking the Allow this user to see all customers box.
You can see which users have access to a given customer from the Customers > Customer Details > Access Control page.
Users will automatically be given access to any customers they create in Velocity.
Manage Rep Access
Users may be authorized to access specific sales reps, which will give them access to:
The sales rep's details
The sales reps' commission
All orders that rep has been commissioned on
To manage a user's authorized sales reps, go to the user details page and select the Rep Authorization tab. Here, you will see a list of all sales reps the user has access to. You can add/remove specific sales reps here, or grant a user access to every sales rep by checking the Allow this user to see all sales reps box.
Users will automatically be given access to any sales reps they create in Velocity.
Manage Product Access
Velocity uses Catalogs to control which products a user is able to place orders for, and how much (if any) they can adjust the product's pricing. Catalogs were previously called Access Groups.
A Catalog is a collection of product variants, each with a pricing rule. Users assigned to a Catalog can place orders for the variants in it.
Create new Catalogs, or manage existing ones, under Velocity Settings > Products > Product Catalogs.
To add a variant to a Catalog, open the product from Products, go to its Variants section, expand the variant, and choose the Catalog from Add to catalog…. Then select one of these pricing rules and select Save Changes:
No custom pricing: Users cannot change the price of this product.
Allow custom price: Users can select any price (including free) for this product.
Set maximum discount: Users may edit the product's price, but may not offer a discount greater than the configured amount.
In cases where multiple Catalogs apply to the same variant, the least-restrictive pricing rule is used.
To see everything a Catalog contains, open Products > Variants and filter by Catalog. See Products.
To manage a user's Catalogs, go to the user details page and select the Catalog Authorization tab. Additionally, you can allow a user to order every product (at any price) by checking the Authorize this user to order all products box.
Customer Access Automation
If your company's sales reps have Velocity logins, manually managing each user's access can be a lot of work. Velocity has a powerful automation feature to make this easier, using information Velocity already has about your customers, sales reps, and commission to automatically grant users access to certain customers.
For this feature to work for a particular user/customer combination, the following prerequisites must be met:
The user must have at least one authorized sales rep configured
The customer must have one or more addresses
You must have Sales Teams and/or customer commission overrides configured
Using this information, Velocity can figure out which sales reps are responsible for the territories containing a customer's address. Then, it will grant the user access to those customers based on which sales reps they have access to.
Customer access automation can be enabled or disabled on a per-customer basis from the Customers > Customer Details > Access Control page.
For customers where Customer access automation is enabled, you can still add additional authorized users manually. However, you cannot remove the automatically-added users unless you disable the customer access automation.

